Awright, time to post again

It’s remarkable the
effect  prolonged unemployment can have on one’s soul. I realized
this late last week, after I’d come out of a job interview feeling
confident and good about myself for the first time in weeks. Still
don’t know if I got the job,  but for a few days anyway, all was
well with the world except my bank balance. Unemployment sucks, being
broke sucks, but I’ll say this: I’ve got great friends and family.

So I haven’t been up to much these past few weeks. Haven’t even gone to
many shows….let’s see, saw Starvin’ Hungry put on two great sets at
Casa in late August…hell, I actually did the door and merch for them
that night in exchange for beer. And how can I forget  seeing Eric
Kearns and Luc Mantha (ex-Chino) with Steve Burliuk (ex-The Darned,
Fidget) and Mark Goodwin (L’il Buck) playing as Loaded By Beer at
Barfly on September 9, kicking off the annual Hangover Golf Tournament.
This out of the ashes of Chino’s lineup at the Alex tribute last March.
Fronted by both Steve and Mark, they played a combination of originals
and a few covers (shit! can’t remember them at the moment) and
thoroughly entertained over half an hour.   Barfly was good
and filled with old  friends. The Sweet Vains followed with a set
of Stones influenced rock/country. Thoroughly enjoyed their
performance, though I admit there was a fair amount of socializing
going on at this point so I wasn’t paying close attention.

I did try to see C’Mon last Thursday night at L’Hemisphere Gauche but I
just couldn’t last the night. I caught Whitey Houston and was really
impressed and will look forward to seeing them in another venue. I
really don’t know about L’Hemisphere Gauche….I’ve seen a few bands
there now but don’t find it a great place to see a band except when
you’re in the pit. Otherwise, the sound is muddy and you can’t see a
thing. Hopefully, I’ll get to see C’Mon in a venue they should be seen
in, like Sala Rosa, or, even better, Cabaret. Love their latest record,
“In the Heat of the Moment”.

Barfly nights are few and far between,  so I watch a lot of movies
instead. Some of the more memorable include City of God, Dogville, The
Machinist, American Psycho,  To Die For, Jacket and seasons 3 and
4 of Six Feet Under. 

Tonight, I’ve been invited to check out Ashtray Heart at the Playhouse on Parc just above St. Viateur. Might just be there…..

6 thoughts on “Awright, time to post again

    1. Shit! No I didn’t. I’ll have to download your show, except I don’t have high speed right now, though I may have in a couple of days if all goes well.

      For a change, I was actually out last night, but I could have caught the first hour of your show at least.

      Thanks for thinking of me.

      1. Hey, if you’re on dialup it’s not worth downloading. There are no big surprises– I was just playing “Nine Yards” by Chino, so I dedicated it to you.

    1. I heard you guys had technical difficulties that night, which was too bad. Though I’ve been wanting to check you guys out, I’m glad I missed your set because when I do see you I want to see the best the Adam Brown have to offer.

      You know, I think we spotted each other at one point that night. I went out to get a breath of air and I think you were outside with some friends or fellow band mates. I was wearing a blazer since I’d had an interview that day.

      Have you heard the latest C’Mon album? It’s the best “Big Rock” I’ve heard in years. I get the same feeling listening to that record as I did when I first heard AC/DC. You wanna dance, play air guitar, bang your head. I really hope they play a better venue the next time they come.

      1. Yeah, it was just a weird night all around with our set — broken bass string, faulty patch cords, and weird mic feedback. It just made it hard to have any sort of momentum whatsoever. The high, high, high, small, small, small stage didn’t help either.

        Oh really? Next time introduce yourself!

        The new C’mon album makes me giddy. “This is Yr Captain” has an absolutely killer guitar solo (one of my favourites in years). The whole album just smokes from start to finish. Big, raw, ragged, and beautiful! Blurton is just on fire as of late…

Leave a Reply

