End of an era

For the record, I sold my lease to my landlord and will be moving come July 1. Sold it for more than he initially offered and am satisfied that my decision was the best one I could make. It’s time for a change.

It all happened very fast. After I wrote my entry dealing with the issue on April 29, I got word from my roomate (at the Motorhead show) that a great place he looked at on Clark at St. Viateur was ours if we wanted it. I only had to see it, and if I liked it, we could sign the lease immediately. So on the Sunday (May 1), I called my landlord and told him what I wanted and he agreed to my terms. The next day, I checked out the new place and was thoroughly impressed – a spacious 5 1/2 for a very reasonable $850 in a neighbourhood I’ve always loved. Signed the deal with my current landlord on the Tuesday, then signed my new lease on the Wednesday.

It’s been 12 years in this building hidden away on the Main. Longer than I’ve stayed anywhere else in my life and it’s been great. But the time has come to call it a day, and move on.

2 thoughts on “End of an era

  1. wow. this is really big! i’m looking forward to seeing you more, but i wonder what other kinds of changes this will bring in your life.

    is kim staying?

    1. I’m hoping the other kinds of changes will all be good! I’ve been in a rut for the last couple of years so I figure they can only be good. It’s time.

      Kim is staying, but she’s not far away from taking some kind of offer. I don’t think she’ll move until next year, though.

      Looking forward to having you as a neighbour, Trixie!

Leave a Reply

